Blending the truth – Birthday

Tomorrow I turn 34. No great shakes. Hubby charmingly pointed out this evening that I’m now closer to 40 than I was. I pointed out that he’s now closer to 50 than he was at his last birthday. *drops the mic*

He’s currently putting Little to bed. Much to Little’s disgust. Mummy is a soft touch. But if mummy puts him to bed she’ll likely fall asleep beside him. Again. Which leads to a grand total of half an hour spent together alone this evening before bed. And resentment sets in. BOOM – it has now been put out there! Sometimes I resent the kids.

Timehop this week for me has been all about a trip to Paris I took myself on for my 26th birthday. Totally random, but I had the cash and I was single at the time. All good? Nope. I wasn’t in a good place mentally. Between losing both parents within 15 months of each other by the time I was 23, and my penchant for Spiced Rum and Diet coke (or anything that was generally wet and alcoholic if truth be told), I wasn’t at my best. BUT I was free to please myself. I could eat a chocolate bar without worrying about the sound of a thousand elephants thundering downstairs to culminate in the question “what you got mummy?”;  I COULD PEE IN PEACE!!!! I didn’t have to justify every movement. All I can now say to that is well played Mam. I’m sorry I pissed you off at the bingo in Blackpool that time, pestering you for money for another Mr Blobby trinket. Can you lay off now, please???

Little is in nursery tomorrow and Middle is at school. Hubby isn’t at work until late afternoon so I’m being treated to Birthday Lunch. I can’t wait. A few hours together where we can be us. No interruptions/shouting/random questions. A chance to connect and keep our relationship strong and in turn keeping our family strong.

The best Birthday present…..in the world.

Leave a Reply

